Jump to information

Solar

What Is a Solar Thermal Panel?

While solar PV panels use the energy from the sun to generate electricity, solar thermal panels use the sun to heat up water. As such, solar PV panels and solar thermals are two very different technologies. Solar thermal uses free renewable energy from the sun which, just like the solar PV panels, will help you save money and reduce your carbon footprint. Joule stock a complete range of solar thermal systems such as solar electricity and solar photovoltaics.

Solar thermal systems are suitable for every type of installation. From our high-efficiency Acapella evacuated tube collector solar system to our Navitas 2.0m in-roof solar panel systems and on-roof solar panel systems.

Features & benefits

Installing solar thermal hot water heating requires minimal upheaval and can deliver considerable cost savings, making this type of renewable technology a practical and cost-effective option for new-builds and existing properties.

  • Produces up to 70% of a property’s annual hot water – as much as 90% in summer.
  • Suitable for every home, whether new build or retrofit.
  • Low-cost investment.
  • On-roof and in-roof solar panels available.
  • MCS approved for the Renewable Heat Incentive.

Advantages of Solar Panels

Renewable Energy Source

 

The most important benefit is that solar energy is a 100% renewable energy source. It’s our future.

Reduce Bills

 

In the long run, it will save you a significiant of money. Solar thermal panels are really efficient.

Low Maintenance

 

Solar thermal panels require little maintenance and only occasional planned servicing. You only have to keep them relatively clean.

How much hot water can a solar panel supply?

 

Solar thermal panels can account for up to 70% of a home’s hot water demand

 

Summer 80 – 90%
Autumn and Spring 40 – 50%
Winter 20 – 30%

What type of Cylinder?

A hot water cylinder with two heating coils (a twin-coil cylinder), or other multiple inputs.

Joule Cyclone range of hot water cylinders has been designed to work with any solar system. The twin solar cylinders are manufactured with 9mm sensor pockets for the solar controller to ensure that the solar system performs at its optimum level.

Matthew Nicholson

Area Sales Rep

Mob: 087 454 8155

Email: matthew@joule.ie

Darren Moran

Area Sales Rep

Mob: 087 656 3613

Email: darrenmoran@joule.ie

Ciaran Clohessy

Area Sales Rep

Mob: 087 357 6408

Email: ciaran@joule.ie

Eoin Naughton

Area Sales Manager

Mob: 086 773 5095

Email: eoin@joule.ie

Sean Collins

Area Sales Rep

Mob: 087 692 8114

Email: sean@joule.ie

Eoghan Conway

Area Sales Rep

Mob: 083 176 2372

Email: eoghan@joule.ie

Ronan Ginnell

Group MD

Mob: 077302 17060

Email: ronan@jouleuk.co.uk

Adrian Thompson

Commercial Director

Mob: 07949730432

Email: Adrian.t@jouleuk.co.uk

Andrea Innes

Area Sales Manager

Mob: 07764 961624

Email: andrea.innes@jouleuk.co.uk

Craig McCrudden

Area Sales Manager

Mob: 07495 580932

Email: craig@jouleuk.co.uk

Paul Steward

Renewable Sales Manager

Mob: 07506 194540

Email: paul@jouleuk.co.uk

Rob Chalkley

Area Sales Manager

Mob: 07983 686720

Email: robert@jouleuk.co.uk